Policy & Action

Stakeholder Legislative Forum with Senator Steve Waugh

Wednesday, August 17, 2016 • 5:30 – 7:30pm
Lexington Park Library, Lexington Park
Senator Steve Waugh, representing the 29th District in the Maryland Senate, is a member of the Senate Education, Health & Environmental Affairs Committee. He has extended an invitation to discuss the impact of legislation passed during the previous Session and to gather input on legislation for the upcoming legislative Session. No RSVP is necessary. If you have questions or comments, you can contact Senator Waugh’s office at (410) 841-3673 or by email steve.waugh@sendate.state.md.us

Calvert County Farm Bureau Responds to Lack of Funding for Land Preservation in Calvert County BOCC FY2016 Budget

On Tuesday, May 19, 2015, the Calvert County Farm Bureau gave testimony at the public budget hearing before the Calvert County Board of County Commissioners urging them to restore full support to the land preservation programs. Below is the testimony which was read by Jamie Tiralla on behalf of Susie Hance Wells. Read More

Calvert County Farm Bureau Holds Work Session With Board of County Commissioners

Calvert County Farm Bureau

On Tuesday, February 10, 2015, Susie Hance-Wells and Jamie Tiralla presented before the Calvert County Board of County Commissioners, During the work session, three opportunities for agriculture were addressed: land preservation, economic development and zoning. The work session resulted in a positive discussion and the board seemed supportive of the Calvert Farm Bureau’s recommendations. The commissioners also tentatively accepted an invitation for a farm tour to be held on May 26, 2015.

Download Work Session MemoWatch the Work SessionRead Calvert Recorder’s Coverage

Maryland Farm Bureau News

Click here for access to the Maryland Farm Bureau Hotline, Government Relations Bulletin and Spotlight Newsletters.

Our Local Officials

United States Senate District 5: Steny Hoyer (D)

Governor/Lt. Governor: Larry Hogan & Boyd Rutherford (R)
Comptroller of Maryland: Peter Franchot (D)
Attorney General: Brian Frosh (D)

Maryland State Senate
District 27: Thomas V. Mike Miller (D)
District 29: Steve Waugh (R)

Maryland House of Delegates
District 27B: Michael Jackson (D)
District 27C: Mark Fisher (R)
District 29C: Jerry Clark (R)

Calvert County :

Board of County Commissioners:

  • Steven Weems – BOCC President
  • Evan Slaughenhoupt – BOCC Vice President
  • Pat Nutter
  • Tom Hejl
  • Mike Hart

Sheriff: Mike Evans (R)
Treasurer: Nova Tracy-Soper (R)
States Attorney: Laura L. Martin (R)
Clerk of the Circuit Court: Kathy P. Smith (D)
Register of Wills: Margaret H. Phipps (D)

Archives & Past Events

Please click a link to access past events

2014 Calvert Farm Bureau Candidate Forum